Home / Boxing

Who Tyson Fury or Deontay Wilder will have to fight next if AJ deal can't be agreed

GiveMeSport | Updated: 2018-10-09 17:36:16

One of the biggest fights of 2018 will take place on December 1 in Los Angeles, as Deontay Wilder defends his WBC heavyweight title against Tyson Fury in the Staples Centre.

Both men are undefeated in their professional careers, Wilder boasts an incredible 40 wins, 39 KOs, whereas Fury is 27-0 with 19 KOs and a more star-studded CV to match.

Fury has no doubt looked rusty since his boxing return, but will seek comfort in the fact that he was the man who ended the 11-year reign of Wladimir Klitschko in his final fight before his infamous drugs ban. 

The challenger made his long-awaited return to the boxing ring after a three-year exile back in June, and has since defeated both Sefer Seferi and Francesco Pianeta - one by knockout and one via points.

Heading into his third fight of 2018, Fury takes on the much-hyped Deontay Wilder, who many believe has had an easy run thus far in his career.

Whatever the outcome of the fight, the winner will face the mandatory challenger for the WBC title Dominic Breazeale, who last fought in November 2017, beating Eric Molina, if a deal isn't agreed with a certain Anthony Joshua with regards to a mega-fight in April next year, that is.

It was also the most recent mandatory defence for Wilder, who stopped Bermane Stiverne in the first round of the main event.

Breazeale may be first in line for his title shot, but WBC president Mauricio Sulaiman made it abundantly clear that he wouldn't prevent the winner of Wilder/Fury facing Joshua in a unification fight, should a deal be agreed.

Breazeale's only career defeat came at the hands of Anthony Joshua in 2016 and faces competition from Dillian Whyte, who has also made himself available for a showdown for Wilder's title.

Whyte, who last fought Joseph Parker in a 12-round thriller earlier in the year, also wants another shot at Joshua, who, like Breazeale, succumbed to a first career defeat to the IBF, IBO, WBA and WBO champion.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Most Popular


Copyright 2015 - . All rights reserved.